1996 Diamond Senior Ladies Ontario Curling Championship Team | Springwater Sports Heritage Hall Of Fame

Springwater Sports Heritage

Founding Benefactor: The McGuire Trust

Springwater Sports Heritage

1996 Diamond Senior Ladies Ontario Curling Championship Team

Induction Award:

This team of four won the Ontario Masters Curling Championship on February 1, 1996 in Huntsville. They were the first and only team, representing the Elmvale Curling Club, to win a provincial championship.

(L-R) Ev McFadden (lead), Lorna Quesnelle (second), Marlene Tinney (vice), and Dorrie  Fiegehen (skip)


In 1996, the team of Dorrie Fiegehen (skip), Marlene Tinney (vice), Lorna Quesnelle (second) and Ev McFadden (lead) became the first and only curling team representing the Elmvale Curling Club to win a provincial championship.

The foursome defeated Huntsville in the Zone final, defeated Galt in the finals at the Regional playoffs.  The team travelled to Huntsville for the provincial championships.

The Elmvale rink, after three games, qualified for the finals when skip Dorrie Fiegehen made a draw to the button to receive a bye to the finals.

In the final, the ladies led by three points without last rock advantage.  When all rocks had been thrown, the team won the championship by a mere fraction of an inch in a measurement.


Go to Inductees’ Media Gallery

In Memory:


Ceremony Video